A dieu mês amours ….Yann Vieira

Version française

A dieu mês amours 

A Dieu mes amours, a Dieu vous commant

A Dieu mes amours jusques au printemps.

Je suis en soucy de quoy je vivray ;

La raison pourquoy, je vous la diray :

Je n’ay point d’argent, vivray-je de vent ?

Se l’argent du roy ne vient plus souvent.

A Dieu mes amours, a Dieu vous commant.

Chanson de Josquin Desprez (1440-1521)

English version

To God my love affairs

To God my love affairs, has God commanded you
To God my love affairs until in spring.
I am there wondering how I would earn my living;
Which reason, you would tell me:
I haven’t got money, Would I live from the  wind? 
King’s money often does not come any more.
To God my love affairs

Leave a Reply

