Murcia: My beautiful city

Written by Jorge López Zapata

Hi,  my name is Jorge,  I’m fifteen years old and I’m from Murcia, a small city on the southwest of Spain. I go to a religious school called Maristas. Let me explain to you some aspects about the city.

Localization:

The city of  Murcia is the most important town of  the autonomous community of the same name,  between  Andalucia and Valencia, and near the Mediterranean coast.

map

History:

Iberian paleolitic and neolitic cultures, ancient greeks,  carthaginians and romans lived here and we have lots of his cultural legacy in monuments such  Cartagena roman theatre in Carthago-Nova. After the moorish domination Murcia Kingdom was a “taifa” and finally became a part of Castilla territory.

Places of interest:

I like the cathedral because its magnificent Baroque style and the beautiful Glorieta square where I and my friends usually practice  skateboarding.  Moreover if you are hungry after sports there are a lot of  typical murcian restaurants to enjoy tasty foods ( My favourite restaurant is called Pepico del Tio Ginés, where you can try lots of little bread with ham, blue cheese, tuna and   chorizo…).

The Cathedral

typical murcian tapas

Maristas School:

In  1903 Maristas congregation arrived to Murcia and la Merced was opened in 1925 having excellent academic results in different generations of students.

Maristas  la Merced in 1927

I hope that you can visit my town and enjoy of our culture, gastronomy and know our way of life.

Leave a Reply

